Port forwarding problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2007, 07:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,783
Default Port forwarding problems

I cannot get port forwarding to work. I have tried to set up a static IP, but it doesn't work. I use BellSouth DSL, if that helps.

I have tried the DNS listed by "ipconfig /all", and I also tried the DNS listed on BellSouth's FAQ. Neither work and shut down my connection.

If anyone knows where I can find the proper DNS for BellSouth, I will definitely try them. Or if there is any way to get this done other wise...
__________________

__________________
CM Mastercase H500 / Corsair RM650 Modular / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X / SilverStone PF240 AiO Cooler
AsRock X570 Extreme4 WiFi AX / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz / PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe / WD Blus 5000GB SSD / WD Blue 2TB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical
3xSceptre E255B-1658A 24.5" 165Hz + NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX 19" (in 3+1 configuration)

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: Port forwarding problems

IOCEXTDNS1.BLS.COM
IOCEXTDNS2.BLS.COM

those come up as their name servers from ARIN.....
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,783
Default Re: Port forwarding problems

I located the DNS servers for BellSouth, and am working on forwarding my modem. I go through the steps for my model, but portforwarding.com doesn't give me the info in the form. It leaves out the port range and base port (something).

Any suggestions? Any other source for this info?
__________________
CM Mastercase H500 / Corsair RM650 Modular / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X / SilverStone PF240 AiO Cooler
AsRock X570 Extreme4 WiFi AX / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz / PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe / WD Blus 5000GB SSD / WD Blue 2TB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical
3xSceptre E255B-1658A 24.5" 165Hz + NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX 19" (in 3+1 configuration)

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 08:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,783
Default Re: Port forwarding problems

Any suggestions here? i have had to connect directly to the modem... I have somehow disabled by router (can't get to the control panel). I am hoping to work on it this evening.
__________________
CM Mastercase H500 / Corsair RM650 Modular / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X / SilverStone PF240 AiO Cooler
AsRock X570 Extreme4 WiFi AX / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz / PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe / WD Blus 5000GB SSD / WD Blue 2TB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical
3xSceptre E255B-1658A 24.5" 165Hz + NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX 19" (in 3+1 configuration)

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default Re: Port forwarding problems

What brand of router and what service are you forwarding?
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,783
Default Re: Port forwarding problems

My modem is a Westell 890-610030-06 (acts as a router, but only has a single port), and my router is a Linksys WRT54G.
__________________
CM Mastercase H500 / Corsair RM650 Modular / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X / SilverStone PF240 AiO Cooler
AsRock X570 Extreme4 WiFi AX / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz / PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe / WD Blus 5000GB SSD / WD Blue 2TB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical
3xSceptre E255B-1658A 24.5" 165Hz + NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX 19" (in 3+1 configuration)

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default Re: Port forwarding problems

When you're plugged directly to the modem do you get a 192.168 IP?
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 09:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Port forwarding problems

ignore the modem unless it is a gateway (router) too. port forward the router. we had a topic on that router before on the old forum side. what's your torrent client?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 09:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default Re: Port forwarding problems

He may need to put his modem in bridge mode if its a router.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 09:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,783
Default Re: Port forwarding problems

Quote:
When you're plugged directly to the modem do you get a 192.168 IP?
Yes.

Quote:
what's your torrent client?
uTorrent, thinking of trying Deluge.

Quote:
He may need to put his modem in bridge mode if its a router.
Right now I am running direct to the modem. I upgraded the firmware on the router and had to call Linksys to get it to working again. i then went to configure it (wireless and all) and the instructions said to change the IP... I did, and now have no connectivity (again). yes, I have released and attempted to renew, but with the router I get nada.
__________________

__________________
CM Mastercase H500 / Corsair RM650 Modular / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X / SilverStone PF240 AiO Cooler
AsRock X570 Extreme4 WiFi AX / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz / PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe / WD Blus 5000GB SSD / WD Blue 2TB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical
3xSceptre E255B-1658A 24.5" 165Hz + NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX 19" (in 3+1 configuration)

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 05:24 PM
Port Forwarding Questions Deadpixel Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 17 08-23-2007 05:31 PM
Router port forwarding Pinscher Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 08-08-2007 07:54 PM
Port Forwarding for DynDNS suppafreak Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 06-08-2007 12:04 AM
is port forwarding only used when accessing machines on a LAN from the internet. rookie1010 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 05-07-2007 04:21 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.