Home Network Minus Internet

IsThisOn?

Beta member
Hi All. I am a fulltime 3D artist working out of a home office. I have recently made the decision to pull both of my desktops offline. I work directly off of one machine and use the second one as a render slave. I have been struggling with getting this set up properly.

I need as fast transfer speeds as possible. I tried purchasing a gigaswitch from Best Buy (like $50) and was eventually able to make it work but the transfer speeds were really slow.

A little bit about my computers. They are identical. Stats are the same for both.

Windows 10
x99 Deluxe Mboard
OS Disc is 500GB Samsung Evo
64GB ram

What the best way to network these puppies together so that I can file share and access both computers from either desktop without having the internet.

What about the specs on the second machine? Are both connected at 1Gbit speeds? Did you statically assign an IP and Subnet mask to both machines, or do you have a DHCP server (a router can accomplish this task easily) on the network handing out addresses?

What transfer speeds are you seeing? At 1Gbit, the most you will see is ~100MB/s in transfer rates.

Thanks for your reply...

What about the specs on the second machine?
The machines are identical. Specs are the same. Bothe have the X99 Deluxe. 64GB ram etc.

Are both connected at 1Gbit speeds?
When I tried using the gigaswitch they were both connected to that via a cat6 cable. Im sorry I'm not sure what the speed was.

Did you statically assign an IP and Subnet mask to both machines, or do you have a DHCP server (a router can accomplish this task easily) on the network handing out addresses?
No idea. I literally just connected both computers to the gigaswitch. That was it.

What transfer speeds are you seeing? At 1Gbit, the most you will see is ~100MB/s in transfer rates.
I can't remember off the top of my head. It was slower than that though. Is there a way to get faster speeds than that?