ethernet router w/o ethernet modem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2006, 02:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default ethernet router w/o ethernet modem?

hi is there any way of using a ethernet router without having an ethernet modem? i have a belkin wireless g router 802.11g 2.4ghz 54 mbps and a speedtouch usb adsl modem. thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
leicester4life is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 06:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,010
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You can get a router with a built in modem like this
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/index...w&model_id=143

Expensive, and you cannot use it with a newer modem now. I dont recomend this route and I run entirely seperate modem's.
__________________

__________________
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Hmm, is there anyway i could use my router with a USB modem, even if the router doesn't have a USB port, by connecting it through the computer in some way?
__________________
leicester4life is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

You could connect the router to the computer through the NIC card, and connect the modem to the PC via USB. The other computers would plug into the Router. You would then have to configure Internet connection sharing on that PC, and it would have to remain ON in order for any of the other hosts to connect to the net.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Your router would end up basically beign a switch in that case. DSL modems aren't wildy expensive though, if you don't leave you machien on all the time it might be a better option.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 05:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Hmm, well I do leave my PC on constantly through the day, so that could be a viable option. Oh, btw would i go aboout connnecting my router to my NIC card, simply plug the Ethernet cable into my Ethernet port?
__________________
leicester4life is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 04:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Thats correct. Make sure that you have the drivers installed for the NIC. You would ALSO have to enable Internet Connection Sharing for the 'pass-through' PC.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.