Basic networking for a dummy

The Technician

Solid State Member
Hey guys,

As a few of you know, I am new to the technical side of computers and networking, and self-studying for the 802 A+ certification exam. Among other things that I'm struggling to understand, is the fundamentals of networking. I've gone over at least a dozen articles and videos, including Technet, and it's all really just gibberish to me. So, before I go reading yet another 'understanding basic networking' article only to come away confused, I thought I would try this...

Below is a question that I got on a practice exam...

---

A critical server was replaced by the IT staff the previous night. The following morning, some users are reporting that they are unable to browse the internet upon booting their workstations. Users who did not shut down their workstations the previous day are able to connect to the internet. A technician looks at the following report from a workstation with no internet connectivity:

IP Address: 192.168.1.101
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
DHCP Server: 192.168.1.1
DNS Server: 192.168.1.2
Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1

Given the above report, which of the following is the cause of why some workstations are unable to browse the internet?
A. The DHCP server is unavailable
B. The workstation has an APIPA address
C. The DHCP server is misconfigured
D. The default gateway router is misconfigured

---

Now, I know that the correct answer is C because the practice test told me so when I got it wrong. But I have no idea WHY.