What antivirus software should I use for Linux?

KimKat7997

Baseband Member
Long ago I was brought up on Sun Solaris at my first job, but this was before Linux. Certain reductions in the tech industry caused a reversal of my fortunes so home builds became very low priority compared to easy and cheap. Long story short, never used Linux but I'm making my laptop into a dual boot with Ubuntu (seemed like the best option) and need to know what security software I should have. I'll be using it for coding and am planning on using a dedicated programing environment. I think the entire process will end up in projects, but not sure on that yet. Thanks all!

I consider Windows viruses hard to get as well, which is why I haven't run an AV in many years now ;). But I also use common sense.

I subscribe to Avast Premier, and I really enjoy it! Pretty cheap for a year's subscription.

EDIT: Didn't realize this was for Linux. I have zero experience with that, and apologize for throwing my hat in without providing myself full disclosure.

Last edited:
I consider Windows viruses hard to get as well, which is why I haven't run an AV in many years now ;). But I also use common sense.
You mean Microsoft Security Essentials FTW! 4 years strong without any issues. I also do a malewarebytes scan every 6 months or so too.

There is no need for antivirus in linux

That depends.

From the link I posted from Ubuntu's wiki:

Isn't Linux virus-free?

For the most part, Linux is engineered in a fashion that makes it hard for viruses to run. However, there are many reasons you might want a virus scanner on your Linux PC:

1. you are required to have a virus scanner installed by the terms of use of the company you work for or are doing business with
2. to scan a Windows drive in your PC
3. to scan a Windows-based network attached server or hard drive
4. to scan Windows machines over a network
5. to protect a Windows virtual machine from within the virtual machine