I work in the IT field and I'm undecided if I should purse an MBA or MIS degree?

CurlyP

Beta member
Hello Community - I need some advice!

I have been working full-time in the IT field since 2011 (so 4 years). I have worked various jobs from customer support, Helpdesk lead, IT contractual, and currently as an Information Assurance Manager (IAM) while performing Cybersecurity duties (all with the same company).

I currently hold my BA in Computer Management Information Systems. I am looking to go back to school for my Master's degree; however, I am undecided on which direction I should take, MBA or MIS. Many peers and mentors have given me mixed advice and have told me it all depends on where I want to take my career.

To be honest, I'm not looking to attend a top notch school like the OSU Fisher College of Business or William and Mary Raymond A. Mason School of Business! I could see obtaining a degree from these type of schools if I worked in the financial or business sector field.

I am looking at taking classes in the evening locally where I live or online (not through Phoenix or something of that nature).

My long term goal is to make it in Executive Management. I also love the security side of IT as it is consistently changing to stop the adversaries. However, I am not sure I want to pigeon hold my self to one specific area (hence the CMIS degree). The reason I chose the BA CMIS route was to have a full understanding of both the business and IT side, and to learn how to leverage technology to make the organization more efficient and effective. The same holds true to the Master's degree as I want something that will make me well rounded for an Executive position in the IT field. With that said, since I do work in the IT field, does the MIS degree hold more weight?