Getting into IT field at 40

hawx20

Beta member
I've been an Operations Manager at my current job for the past 10 years. I've always loved working with computers and having been doing so since the DOS days.

I want to start self studying and earning certifications but the thing killing my motivation are the horror stories of age discrimination in this field. Is it really that bad? My current job is fine, but I want to be prepared in case anything ever happens so I figured why not start on getting certs while I can. Realistically, how hard would it be for someone between 40-45 years old to land a job in the IT field? Would I pretty much be wasting my time getting certs at this age and should I look into another field?

Its not hard at all to find a job at that age. I think the big issue people have is they think because they are older they can start mid level similar to other fields. This isn't he case with IT, you start from the bottom and move up, no matter what your age is.

Certifications is the perfect start, I'd start off with CompTIA A+ and Net+. Those are great starts.

Professor Messer, CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Linux, Microsoft Certification Training has some great material for free.

No misconception here about starting at the bottom. While it does kind of suck, in a weird way its what excites me the most about getting into a new field.

While working at my current job, I was already at the top when I got a wife and kid. Its exciting to see what I can do starting on the ground floor with the motivation of having a family. Its simultaneously the most exciting and most frightening thing I can do, starting a new job on the ground floor. Absolutely no room for failure, and forget hitting the ground running.....i dont plan to hit the ground!

Ha!