New Member - need IT career guidance

technologystudent

Beta member
Hello all!

I'm a new forum member. I joined this forum because I need career guidance. I'm new(ish) to information technology and I can use all the help, suggestions and recommendations I can get! But before I ask any questions, I'll share a bit about my background. I'm a full-time college student and full-time employee working in retail. I spent my first four years of post-secondary education pursuing my BS in Communication (electronic media / journalism). I currently taking my last class but I've decided the field just isn't for me because (1) I no longer enjoy the work like I used to and (2) it is not a financially viable option. The current economic outlook for those in the field of Communication is dismal at best. Jobs are sparse, workloads are over-the-top, and there's little room for advancement. Ironically, much of this is due to the proliferation of technology, especially mobile. It was inevitable technology would overhaul the field of Communication. Moving forward, I've always been fascinated with technology and how it's intertwined into almost every facet of daily living. From microcomputers to corporate data mining, I enjoy it all. So, I've decided to make a career for myself in IT. And to get started, I've jumped straight into another post-secondary program - Bachelors of Applied Science in Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications (aka Networking Engineering). Here's some more info about the program: Program: Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications (S300) (B.A.S.) - Florida State College - Acalog ACMS It's an accredited program that utilizes Cisco, Inc course material. A requirement of the program is one must complete and pass the CompTIA A+ and Cisco CCNP exams before receiving a degree - this was a big plus for me.