New Member Introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

GOOD WIZARD

Beta member
Hi; My name is Larry Morgan. I live in Atlanta,Ga. I'm currently enrolled in school pursing my bachelor degree in computer science. At this present time I hold my A+, Network+, MCP Certifications. I'm trying to decide in what area I want to specialize in; since it's so many directions you can go in the IT Field. Could anyone give me any tips on that? I would appreciate any type of suggestions............I'm a beginner in this field so; I have a lot to learn. It would be an honor if someone who is a veteran in this IT Field can take me under their wing and mentor me.

With all due respect,

Larry C. Morgan

Welcome to Tech-Forums Larry. I'm not an IT guy so I can't help you with that but I'm sure you'll get a few recommendations :thumbsup:

Hey, welcome to the forums! So many things you have to consider for something like that. E.g do you want to be going site to site, or working at a single location? Do you have good people skills, or would you prefer to work more with just routers/switches? Can you handle stressful situations well? Different areas in the field offer different levels/mixes of that kind of stuff.

For example, being a network engineer probably means you're going to have to drive around a lot, as well as being on call at later/earlier hours than is normal. Being a programmer means you wouldn't have to talk to many people and would probs have standard hours. Being a Network Administrator would mean you'd work out of a single location, but there'd be a lot more responsibility attached. etc.

Welcome to the Tech Forums Good Wizard. I recently obtained my bachelor's in CS from UW-La Crosse and it qualifies you for a variety of careers. Including:
*Software Engineer
*DBA
*Processor Design
*Building Compilers
*Designing Operating Systems