Questions about Tor on Android and Orbot.

Spud1200

Fully Optimized
I have my paid for subscription to PIA. I run my Android Phone threw this using their PIA Android App but how does Tor and Orbot impact on this.

I just downloaded Orbot but was first told when installing Orfox I needed this. I have installed the two but I'm unsure how this will impact on my PIA Subscription using the PIA Android App.

Is this Overkill. Their have been some browser extensions installed being No Script and HTTPS Everywhere.

I don't really have an understanding how this is going to work using a PIA Android App when I have OrBot and OrFox installed. Will this cause conflicting issues. Compatibility issues mabie.

Can anyone tell me anything. I'm new to the whole Android this. Isn't Android owned by Google or Microsoft. I'm not sure what one.

Their seems to be a lot of conflicting things. I have a VPN on my Phone. What is built in to Android. But then theirs a Ton of Apps were you can get free proxy services. Then theirs Paid for Subscriptions like PIA then TOR and OrBot then OrFox. I'm confused. Is their anything I need to configure my self. :confused:

Read this first
https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en

Tor basically bounces your connection request through encrypted links to several "nodes" before finally sending it to where you actually wanted it to go. That way the destination only knows that the node requested it, and your IP address stays hidden. Though obviously this doesn't work perfectly

Orbot and Orfox are just Tor for your phone.

PIA is a VPN service - you tunnel into a remote server, and all your requests originate from there as if you were in another location.

You can certainly use both together for added security, but don't expect it to be fast. Also yes, I'd say it's overkill