Passwort reset functionality with iOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Security | Computer, Devices, Software and Systems > General Security Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2020, 04:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1
Default Passwort reset functionality with iOS

Hi there

I was given the task to find a new way to cut IT support cases at our bank. Statistics show one of the largest support ticket generating activity is password change/password resets on mobile devices.Moreover, the calls are very heavy on the team as individuals blame IT for a slow and ineffective process.🙄

Currently, calls take up to 20 minutes which is quite costly for the company.

It is quite hard for us to focus on essential IT tasks when we have 2-3 hours of password reset requests daily.

Fyi: Iím the IT manager and we use iOS devices exclusively with BlackBerry UEM set up.
__________________

__________________
Jeff@Papers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 09:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,985
Default Re: Passwort reset functionality with iOS

Have you compared UEM to AirWatch?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Google Pixel 3 XL


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2020, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
i2D
i 2 D 2
 
i2D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,844
Default Re: Passwort reset functionality with iOS

Yeah ive used airwatch, you can simple select the device and remove password/passcode and require a new one to be set in X amount of minutes.

Also look at Intune.
__________________
i2D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 03:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1
Default Re: Passwort reset functionality with iOS

Hi there, I just saw your post.

Well, the two answers above are right, however, not the most economical one. I myself opted in on Airwatch when they offered a free trial. What has happened ever since was not really a great user experience. Servers down, network overload were frequent... We moved back to our standard EMM on-prem and found this cool solution made by a Swiss company. It's called Hypergate Authenticator which works with all major EMM's, removes the necessity to input passwords regularly (SSO), works with Smart Access (Location) and your employees can do password resets on mobile devices, on the go! It was a game-changer for us. Would highly recommend it if you are looking to have an on-prem /Hybrid solution.
__________________
johnaswellington12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 02:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
i2D
i 2 D 2
 
i2D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,844
Default Re: Passwort reset functionality with iOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnaswellington12 View Post
Hi there, I just saw your post.

Well, the two answers above are right, however, not the most economical one. I myself opted in on Airwatch when they offered a free trial. What has happened ever since was not really a great user experience. Servers down, network overload were frequent... We moved back to our standard EMM on-prem and found this cool solution made by a Swiss company. It's called Hypergate Authenticator which works with all major EMM's, removes the necessity to input passwords regularly (SSO), works with Smart Access (Location) and your employees can do password resets on mobile devices, on the go! It was a game-changer for us. Would highly recommend it if you are looking to have an on-prem /Hybrid solution.
Nice ad, 1st post from location Switzerland and happen to recommend a Switzerland company...

what you suggested is just another auth solution, so that sounds stupid.. when an MDM solution kills 2 bird with 1 stone.
__________________
i2D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i need to reset administration password with out a reset disk keylefoxy Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-26-2011 08:32 PM
How to add functionality to the Windows Explorer Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-23-2006 11:39 PM
functionality of DOS in windows 1.0 rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 07-23-2006 06:16 AM
Direct3D functionality not available (9.0c) rascellian Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-06-2005 01:31 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.