IT noob, looking for advice from experienced IT'ers

Vendetta459

Beta member
Hey guys,

I'm a sophomore IT major, planning to concentrate in Data Security. I'm starting to look at internships, but worried I won't be qualified, and embarrass myself. I've always been knowledgeable enough (or able to find the answer) for my basic personal computer needs, but that probably won't cut it professionally.

I had no intention of doing IT for a career until recently, when I decided I didn't want to continue working towards my business degree. I know IT demands a lot of DIY learning apart from school classes, so I feel a bit behind the curve.

If you've read this far, I would very much appreciate your advice. What kind of (general IT, or Data Security) things should I know before applying for an internship? And do you know of any good online resources that provide opportunities for practical learning exercises? I don't really know where I should be, or where to start.

Thanks!

Tough to say, what area is the internship and what would you be doing? I think that answer would dictate your next steps. If the internship is centered around security I would look at maybe getting your Sec+ to make yourself look more prepared.