Nitto 1320 Challenge Problem...

Status
Not open for further replies.

XPProUser

Beta member
Hi, when I play the Nitto 1320 Challenge, using Macromedia Projector, my computer's cpu usage shoots up to 100% and the game lags badly, as a matter of fact the computer halts/lags/stops for about 1 second then starts working again, I suppose due to taxation of the CPU. System is a 2000.5 Compaq 7000Z, 1 ghz athlon, 256 mb, 20 gig hd, XP pro, Savage 4 gphix card. The memory when playing this and AOL is about 193 MB via task manager. Is there anything I can do to lower the processor usage? THANKS

Sean

I would blame it on the Savage 4 card ... If i'm rite .. it's an onboard video option...

Suggestion : Change ur color setting to high color(16bit) from True color(32bit) .. This should reduce ur cpu usage a little..

Also u could try increasing the size of the shared memory available for the display in the bios.

Hey thanks Preet! How do I increase the memory in the BIOS? I am kinda new to XP but not computers overall. Also, how do I start this in safe mode? What replacement video cards work better for my system, is it really the video card killing the system performance and not the 256mb memory? I remember my emachines 633 CELERON running it better than this, thanks!

Sean

Sean before answering ur question .. I just notice that the Compaq 7000Z has a Gefore2 Card n' not a Savage 4 .. Could u reconfirm the model of ur machine again ..

Hey Preet, I'm pretty sure it's a Savage, because when I turn the unit on it says Something like Savage G4, I suppose I'll do a restart to confirm. thanks