Help Please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Narcissist

Baseband Member
Hey,

A few weeks ago, I was thnking about buying a DVD Writer, so 2 days ago, I went out to Scan (UK shop, if this is an American board), and bough an NEC ND3540A.

I tried fitting it, but I am useless on computers, so today we took in back to Scan, and they fixed it for us.

So, I got back home, downloaded Nero (?), and tried to burn a video.

However, whenever I do try to burn the video, I egt this:

"Sorry your compilation cannot be written to this type of disc. Please insert a disc of the correct type or modify the setings of your compilation to make it compatiable with the current disc

Disc required for the compilation: CD-R/RW

Disc type in the recorder: DVD-R"

If I am trying to burn a video, why would it say I need a CD-R/RW?

Basically, does anyone know how I can start to burn videos?

Thanks

I think that may be where I'm going wrong, as I have always clicked that lol

Sorry, I'm a noob. I'll be spending the next 3 hours just look how to find where the DVD thing is lol

Thanks

Sorry for this, but I have checked through, and I can't see where. Can anyone point out how to change it to burn DVD not video CD?

Thanks

(sorry about being a pest)

Nah, not being a pest.

Are you using the burning wizard or the "advanced" burning menu? The wizard is the one where you pick choices and click next. With that information, we can better help you....help us, help you. =D

Seeing as I don't know a lot about computers,I'll go throuhg it like this. If it's no help, I'll have another go.

1. Put my DVD in.

2. When 2CD Drive (D:), comes up I click 'X', simply because, when I used to burn CD's, WinAMP didn't show, up so I clicked 'X'. then clicked my desktop shortcut. Suppose it's stuck from there lol.

3. Double click 'Nero StartSmart'.

4. Quite a small box opens, which basically asks what you want to do.

Favourites
Make Data CD
Make Data DVD
Make Audio CD
Make Video CD
Copy CD