I Need Recomendations For What To Buy For My Setup!

AWESOMENINJAWARRIOR

Beta member
Hi, I'm a web/game developer, and I also enjoy streaming. I'm looking to buy my first setup, and my budget is about $2,100. I already have a mouse, keyboard, webcam, headset /w mic, and speaker set.

I am set on getting a laptop, but I also would like to have deaktop power at home. So far I think an external GPU enclosure would be the best way to achieve this. I also like the fact that I can upgrade the GPU in the future with an eGPU. I've decided the Razer Core X will probably be the best enclosure for me, and as far as graphics I plan on getting an RTX 2070 (undecided on the brand).

The Razer Core (and litterally every other enclosure) uses a Thunderbolt 3 Cord. So I'll need a laptop with a TB3 port capable of 4 PCIe lanes. I really do not care about any other port besides perhaps a few USB Type A. The more TB, though, te better.

So really what I need help with is finding the perfect laptop. I does not need a good GPU, although I would rather not go worse than a GTX 1050. The processor needs to be at least an i7 8th gen. RAM can be 12 GB or better, and storage I would like to be at least 1 TB, perferrably hybrid or all SSD. But honestly storage is the most flexible of my requirements. I would also like a good ventilation system, as heat will always be an issue with laptop gaming.

Since I expect the gpu to be about $500, and the enclosure is $300, I have a max of $1300 to work with for the laptop. If anyone has recommendations, I'd love to hear them! I'll keep you guys posted on anything I decide.

The main reason is the fact that I am going into college next year. Also, having a portable machine can be very useful for web development, as I can simply bring my entire workplace with me to a client.

As you can tell, I won't need the laptop for anything but light gaming away from home.

None of those laptops have 8th gen i7 processors... or TB3 ports.