Monitor for Graphic design Advice

D.Willemoes Jensen

Solid State Member
Hello

I'm currently looking to buy a new monitor meant for graphic design.
IPS or IPS-like Panel type.
A good screen size, 24" and up.
So far I found this: Asus PB279Q Monitors - PB279Q - ASUS
All seems really good, the resolution is great for its price.
The only downside I see is that PA has factory colour calibration and PB does not.
So I found this here.
Asus PA279Q Skærme & projektorer - PA279Q - ASUS
However it does not have as good resolution.

What do you guys think?

Yea the Asus PA series are great panels for Graphics - an IPS panel with 100+ PPi.. i agree with your choice..

Plus if you're a photographer and you want to enhance real-life photographs the build in SD reader will be easy to pop cards in and out.. and DANG that thing has 6 extra usb ports thats nuts
images.jpg

So you think I should stick with the PA?
If you don't mind, I'd like to ask you a question since I'm very new to this.
The PB is a similar kind to IPS, I think it's called AHVA.
The PB has like 3840x2160 and the PA has 2560x1440. So that's 166 ppi vs 109 ppi.
So in terms of resolution the PB wins
So why doesn't better resolution equal a better monitor? :)

Last edited:
I hadnt seen the PB series other than the link you shared... its not on their breakdown

monitor.png

For resolution I think its preference really.. I think it would depend on the type of graphics you'll be doing. If you're doing real-life photo manipulation you might want a higher resolution due to typically high megapixel images so you can see more of the photograph at a closer-to-native resolution.. (Even though 1080p is only ~2 MP lol)