Upgrade for PC Gaming

Status
Not open for further replies.

notmyusername

Beta member
Hi Yami, since this thread asks the same question I have, and since you seem like someone who knows what they're about, I'm gonna jump in here.

I also would like info on how best to upgrade my pc for gaming. Recently, I started playing Aion, and any time there are a lot of players in one spot, my pc lags so bad that I literally cant tell what is going on at all.

I currently have an off-the-shelf Dell Dimension 4600 from 2004, and would like to use as much from it as possible to save money. I understand that I need to replace my motherboard, processor, and video card at a minimum.

Based on my brief searching this morning, I believe an Intel Core 2 Quad would be a good processor, but which one do I need, Q9550, Q8400 ($100 bucks cheaper than the 9550), etc. I dont need to be able to run 10 processing intensive programs at once, I just want my game to stop lagging, so would the Q8400 be good enough?

I have no idea what motherboard or video card would be good, any advice?

Other questions I have:

I currently have 2 hard drives, I believe they are Sata, but now I cant remember, one of them came with the computer if that helps. My question is, will I still be able to use these, or will I have to replace them as well?

On another site, I read that when upgrading the motherboard, I would need to use the Windows install CD to make Windows work with the new motherboard, I dont have the CD, so can I work around this? Or should I just go ahead and upgrade to Windows 7 at the same time?
*Edit: Also, I have an image of my current OS saved on my second harddrive, not sure if that would change the answer to the above question?

Thanks for the help.

Re: Need Help

Hi Yami, since this thread asks the same question I have, and since you seem like someone who knows what they're about, I'm gonna jump in here.