Another Newb Building First Computer, Need Some Guidance

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlueHiddenSun

Solid State Member
Hello, I am new to the computer building world but not to the internet forum world. I am an extreme car enthusiast and have been on car forums for the last 10 years. This is my first membership in an unfamiliar territory so please, be gentle.

I have spent the last 3-4 months bouncing around the internet trying to establish a high performace gaming computer and this is my first attempt at asking for proper guidance from people who understand a lot more about gaming computers than I do.

I have compiled a list of possible components to the computer I want to build. Friends of mine have suggested that I am being "too extreme" and just buying the "most expensive" components, but I honestly have done some research to create a, some-what, decent (so I think) gaming computer. So enough of my babbling, here is my list...

Case: NZXT Zero 2 Full Tower
Power: Corsair TX750W
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
Motherboard: Asus M3N78 PRO
RAM: Corsair Dual-Ch TwinX 4GB PC 6400 800MHz
Video: XFX GeForce 9800GT 512MB
Sound: Creative Labs X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
DVD/Blu-Ray: LG Super Multi Blu-Ray/HD-DVD
Hard Drive: ????? Not Sure - looking for some input
Ethernet: D-Link DGE 530T

Budget: $1500

The Zero 2 Case comes with two 120 fans in the rear and one 120 in the front with the option of one 80 at the top one 80 at the bottom and four 120s on the side, so I wasn't 100% sure on how much of that I wanted to take advantage of. What are possible candidates for fans? I am an LED fanatic, so my first instinct is to have LEDs in all the fans, but will the LED fans affect the gaming?

Nothing has been purchased, just trying to get something together. In the world of cars, I just don't want to try and put a "1,000 Horsepower engine into a 1908 Ford Model T."