Unbuntu Linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ulti_DOOM

In Runtime
hi all, i just scored a copy of Unbuntu Linux 5.10. before i install it can anyone tell me if its worth my while? if so how good is it? compaired to...windows or OSX?

Its a completely different thing from Windows and OSX.

I personally think its really nice. I am not good with Linux so I am not really able to take advantage of it. I run my apache server on it. ANd it never crashed.

It is a very nice distribution. I have Ubuntu Dapper (6.06, not yet realeased) on my rig along with Xgl+Compiz. It is awesome. Xgl and Compiz gives you effects like rotating a cube to switch desktops, fading, Vista style window switcher, OS X style skrink-windows-to-screen-for-easy-selection (whatever that is called), windows stretch and wobbe when moved, and more. Search Google Videos for a demo :)

Ulti_DOOM,

Don't even bother considering Ubuntu 5.10. if you are going to install Ubuntu at all 4.04 or 4.10 are your best options. The first thing that ubuntu is lacking is a root account, this is anoying because if you want administrative privliges you have to go through command line every time, once is fine, having to do it multiple times is just anoying.

The second horrible thing about Ubuntu is a lack of a decent package manager, you need a packed lunch just to be abe to sit through the unbarible installation process of packages

the Third thing is the Printer support is still dodgy at best

the 4th thing is it still uses totem to handle Multimedia requirements, Totem fails to handle Mpgs most of the time

the 5th reason: Every time you open directory it opens in a seperate window, if you have to do in depth work in the filing system, which makes it slow going. this is not a good thing.