Two Situations. G5 (Server) and cloning older iMac's...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayce

Fully Optimized
I have a stack of projects to complete, most of which are low priority until closer to Labor Day (I work in a school district). I'm running across several questions, and I'm not exactly a Mac expert so I figured I would ask in hopes of stirring up an idea.

Mac G5 - This is being set up as a server for the video editing lab, so they can store their videos to this "local" server and that way we don't have dozens of lengthy videos bogging down the main server. When I put the install CD in, for OS X 10.2, it doesn't install. It just hangs... white screen with the spinner. I've cleared out the pram in hopes that would do the trick, but it doesn't seem to help. When I boot holding the option key, it does recognize the CD as being "Mac OS X Install CD" but... again... it just hangs.

iMac Cloning - I need to set up three additional iMac's that need to be identical to one another. They are going in an existing iMac lab which is graphics oriented. We have a cloning machine here, but we all know how tedious it can be to get to the HDD of an iMac. I was wondering if there was any known (and free) way to successfully clone these Mac's to a master Mac via firewire cable?

Any ideas would be great. Thanks!

jayce the only way i know of to clone a mac's hard drive is by extracting the hard drive but you might be able to do somthing with time machine but I am unsure let me see if i can find anything in the reference manuals i have.

If it comes down to it, I will just rip apart the iMacs and take the drives out. But I was asking this mostly based off of future reference, unless anybody knew a sure-fire answer immediately.

The G5 though is a much bigger concern of mine.

Sadly time machine will only just back up files an settings, but THIS vid might prove informative.