How To Test Network Line Connectivity (i'm A Newbie, Be Nice Please :)...)

Status
Not open for further replies.

COCOCOOKIE

In Runtime
HI! I was wondering if someone could explain how to test a network connection from the wall jack to the patch panel using a LanRoamer when it's a live circuit. If i plug the main unit (of my LanRoamer) into the wall jack at the Workstation and the Remote one where the Cat cable ends at the Patch Panel, I get the "LIVE CIRCUIT" WARNING, which won't allow me to test if "line" is good or not. How do you get around this? How do u tell if it's a LIVE CIRCUIT??? Again, I'm new to this and I'm learning so please have some mercy...:D If anyone knows of any useful step-by-step guide or book with pictures, I would greatly appreciate it. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

Thank you for the replies. Thank you, Osiris, for the pdf guide. I was reading the manual where it says:
To Test Installed Cable (office jack to patch panel with remote)
) Remove remote unit from main unit by sliding remote towards top of the main unit.
) Attach one end of supplied one-foot patch cable to the remote and other end to the wall jack.
) Attach one end of the second supplied one-foot patch cable to the main unit and other end to the patch panel jack.
) The tester will power on immediately and indicate a test in progress by displaying the TEST icon. It will be followed within 2 seconds by a wire map display of the results, plus a PASS icon and a beep if it passed the set shield criteria and T568A/B standard. The ID number for the remote will also be displayed.

I interpret that the cable that runs from the wall jack and ends at the patch panel is not "live" or energized. Because that's the first warning they give you:

"Warning!
Do not attach to energized cables. The LanRoamerPROâ„¢ may be damaged."