good language to learn?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Bloodshed doesn't have a compiler, it's and IDE, which uses the MINGW compilier. Bloodshed's Dev-c++ is real good. Quincy is decent.

As for Languages, Stick with C++ and Java - though C++ is used more. It's not just the language, but how you apply it. For books, if you are wanting to drop 20 USD a month for a subscription, check out safari books online. You get all the books you want cover to cover. Search under "Thomson Course"

Make no mistake, C++ is a difficult language to learn. I have been an amateur developer for over ten years now, and a professional one for a little of two months. I am still not comfortable with C++. As for making an RPG game "like" Golden Sun - do they have a level editor or API, tools to mod or extend the game. I some game development studios will liscense the engine for a percentage of the profits, or will loose and API so that you can develop against that engine, for free. Don't get me wrong, you will still have to learn a language, probably C++, but it will cut development time down a lot.

Good Luck, and when you get in a bind, let me know.

You need to find a book to teach you how to program in C++ first. Afterward, you can look for a game development book. However, I'd seriously recommend learning Python. You'll be developing useful software in python long before you will in C++. It allows you to be far more productive than many other languages. You should seriously consider this path first.

jcortes said:
dev c++ is nice but there are a ton of text editors that you can download c++ compilers for. and if your thinking about actually programming a game defenetly go with c++ or java php is a dynamic web based language and it will be impossible to make a game with it unless its like hangman or something lol which ive made before :)

Php can be used ot make great RPGs... They are just text based, I would give a link, but i dont know this forums linking policy.