Computer turns on, Monitor won't..diagnostic beeps?

CatTeeth

Beta member
Let me preface this by saying when it comes to the guts of a computer I'm a complete novice.

I have a custom computer- I simply made a list of what I wanted my computer to do, gave it to a friend who helped me order the parts and then a third friend put it together. This was about three years ago, it has always worked like a dream.

I moved a few months ago and haven't had the PC on. This past week I set it up with an old monitor because I didn't want to dig mine out of storage. Initially it worked fine for a day or two. Then it started acting weird (not turning on, giving me 'power save' messages and returning to black.)

Fine. I get my monitor, hook it up and it works great for two days.

Last night and this morning I noticed the computer kept locking up while working in photoshop. I had to restart it each time CTRL+ALT+DEL wouldnt work. It was like the computer worked but the monitor had simply locked up.

It locked up on me maybe two hours ago when nothing was running (program wise). I had plugged in a flash drive, turned around and when I turned back it was locked up.

Shut it down.
Turned it back on.
The little beep when the monitor first starts up beeped and then held, never ceasing. Just a long constant beep that never stopped and displayed only the green screen that advertises the brand of graphics card or motherboard or something like that in the computer.

I shut it off, gave it a little more time than usual and turned it back on.
It did the same thing.

Shut it off for a third time. Waited even longer.

Computer turned on, gave me the "computer shut down imporperly message- hit enter to continue" clicked on through and it went black.

Now my tower will go through the motions of being on (lighting up, fan running etc) but the monitor sits black. Unresponsive to the tower. I imagine it's something wrong with the tower and not the monitor itself, right?