Computer Science or Computer & Information Science

itsluisa

Beta member
Hello, I'm new here. I have my associates in computer network administration and heading to get my bachelors in UMUC college but i'm not sure which way to go. Computer Science or computer & information science or are they the same?
I'm looking for entry level jobs for IT Support, Desktop Support, etc and they all seem to require Computer science degree or similar to it. I want to take CS but I hate to take Calculus cuz i think they're hard and i would fail the class.

Hi. I studied a bachelor's degree in Information Systems, and currently work as a Systems Support Analyst. When I accepted to interview for my current job, it was listed in the job description that a degree in Management Information Systems or similar was preferred, so having a relevant degree can really help.

Below are three common bachelor's degrees in the computing / IT field, with some variants, along with an overview of the course content typically found in each:

- BSc Computer Science / Computing
Computer Science focuses primarily on the theoretical, mathematical and computational foundations of computing, and the applications of these to solve a wide range of real world problems. Traditionally, it places emphasis on the design, development / programming of software, systems, technologies.

A Computing degree will typically also cover the fundamentals of Computer Science, but content is usually much broader to include other topics in Information Systems, Information Technology, and business more generally.

> Bachelor of Computer Science - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
> Computer science - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

-

- BSc Information Systems / Computer Information Systems / Business Information Systems / Information Systems Management / Management Information Systems