A change of career?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chadley

In Runtime
Hiya,

Right now after thinking long and hard i've decided i need a career change before i'm old and past it.
I'm 31 and i need some advice before i take the plunge!

I've been tinkering with pc's since '98 when i bought my first pentium 120 and soon afterwards got busy upgrading and have been ever since.
I know a fair bt about OS's in general having self taught myself with trial and error in win 95 (nightmare floppy version) thru 98, 2000 and now xp.
I can set-up a small network (A few mates for some quake action!).
Have been using the net for 6 years and have setup countless accounts on 56k, isdn, dsl manually.
I'm an avid online gamer so i tweak wherever i can.
I can slap up a quick website.

Loads of friends and collegues ask me to 'fix' their pc's when they have a prob, and they seem to think i'm some sort of genius! LOL

So this is where i need your advice.

I want to do this kind of thing for a living!
I have a fair amount of experience but 'only' what i have taught myself and if i don't know something i can usually root out the prob through sites like this, but i know its not enough to get a job.

What sort of college courses should i got for? What course would i need to start on and then progress?

Can i do this with part-time courses as i have a house, car and a misses to run i simply cannot afford to stop work and go into full-time education.

Sorry for long post but i don't really know what else to write. I think i'm having a mid-life crisis!!

Thanks for any help

what do you do now? (for money)

It sounds like your a "computer fixer"... you can fix or figure out the problem OR at least know when to call for help.

The knowledge you have with games, tweaking, upgrading, etc... tells me you can solve problems.