Free software for web building

Status
Not open for further replies.

ModerNietz

Baseband Member
Hi, I'm thinking to creat a website, but I don't want to use dreamweaver or any software that's not free. I'm new to programming but I chose to support free software. Please, give me some idea!

Please be patient with me. Can I use those software in Windows? Are there open source software for Windows? Also, I think I'm going to use Linux, how can I start? Can I download Linux from the internet?

NVU is a great little program for creating webpages

Nvu - The Complete Web Authoring System for Linux, Macintosh and Windows

Of course there is open source software for windows, Tons in fact you might want to take a look at the open CD: Welcome - TheOpenCD

If you are going to use Linux, the best place to start would be the Linux Distro chooser in my Sig. It asks you a series of questions then based on your answers, comes up with a suitable distrbution for you, then you follow the link of your choosing to the distribution home page, D/L the ISO burn it to CD using Nero or the burning app of your choice and there you have Linux

cheers

Jake

Thanks. If I use Linux, can I read pdf books?

Yeah, there's only about 8 different programs that you can use to read pdf's, there's quite a few more that will create pdf's for you.

ModerNietz, start taking a look at the link I provided in the first response. Especially if you're asking if there's a program available that's similar to a windows program. You'll get faster responses than waiting for somebody to reply to your message.

Thanks all. Now I've got the Linux DVD, but before installing it, I want to make sure how to solve the driver issue and network issue. Can I find the drivers for Linux?