1/4 " Microphone to computer input

Status
Not open for further replies.

KyleO

Beta member
I want hook up my 1/4 " Studio Mic to my 1/8 " input jack on my computer so I can use the mic to record, so I went out and bought a device that converts the 1/4 " to 1/8 ". I plugged it in but it doesn't seem to be recording. I tried setting up the device in Control Panel but no cigar. Is there any special software or hardware I have to acquire before doing this?

I vouge for Audacity as well. One of my friend's is doing something like the same, except he's using a mixing board/plugging his band's instruments into that so he can edit the music as needed xD.

I already am using Audacity as a mixing program. I am experienced in audio-editing but I've never tried recording with a 1/4 inch before. It's not recording and I was wondering if I need to run through a mixing board or preamp first?

I already am using Audacity as a mixing program. I am experienced in audio-editing but I've never tried recording with a 1/4 inch before. It's not recording and I was wondering if I need to run through a mixing board or preamp first?

set audacity to mic. open your sound properties in control panel and unmute the mic

Just use the 1/4" to 1/8" adapter on your 1/4" plug, and make sure you'r eplugging it into an input (mic jack). It shouldn't matter, that you're plugging it straight in, so you shouldn't need a mixer or preamp. Then do what Eric said.

If you're using a condenser mic and no preamp your level could be REALLY low, too (phantom power through computers generally sucks).

If you're using a condenser mic and no preamp your level could be REALLY low, too (phantom power through computers generally sucks).