zune in vista rc2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2006, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
The Napster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my car
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to The Napster Send a message via MSN to The Napster
Default zune in vista rc2

i know people have gotten zune to work in windows vista, but I have tried all three ways and all have failed (MoDaCo, Andre de Cavaignac, and running it streight with xp cokmpatibility) I get the message "error occured please restart and try again" when i run zune setup and when i run zune.msi streight i get the message "setup has ended prematurely because of an error"

I dont know y it wont work on mine and it will on other peoples


Is there any alternative to put media on zune other than zune software? (i googled it and it said there isnt, but maybe someone knows something different)
__________________

__________________
DFI infinity RS 482
3Gig Corsair PC 3200
AMD X2 4400+ 2.4ghz
250Gig Samsung SATA 3.0 7200rpm
250Gig Hatachi SATA 3.0 7200 rpm
60Gig Maxtor ATA 5400 rpm
2x160Gig WD SATA 7200 rpm RAID-0
ATI X850XT 256mb
Antec TruePower 430
The Napster is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 01:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

hahaha that is funny, microsoft cant get either of their "flag ship"products to work toghether.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 01:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I doubt that a Zune is made by Microsoft, and the XBOX is not made by Microsoft. Probably some Japanese maker like Creative for the MP3, and Sony for the XBOX.

Sony actually making something? Their OS's aren't even made by themselves...
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 04:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay the Aune was fully made by M$. That is why is doesnt work with Vista as of right now. Considering Vista isnt released and wont be for a month i dont think that gives them too much of a problem getting it to work.

Zune is made by many 3rd party companies right now. M$ didnt fully develop the Zune themselves and therefor cant be held accountable as to why it dont work on Vista jsut yet.

When Zune hits its 2.0 stages it will be fully made by M$ and then you can complain all you want.

Also are you sure that you are running the same version of Vista that they are? I am running the RTM build 6.0.6000.16386 and even i cant get it to install even under compatability.

There isnt any alternative yet to putting music on Zune except thru the Zune software. So maybe installing XP will be your only choice. Considering that RC2 will no longer be able to be used after 5/31/2007 that istn such a bad option.

@TallDude-
Nice to have you back with us.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
The Napster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my car
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to The Napster Send a message via MSN to The Napster
Default

Yeah, I have xp mce in dual boot so i can get to it when I want. I have the zune software setup under xp and thats how I update my zune as of right now. I use vista all the time so I was just wanting to get it to work in vista as im not in xp very much anymore and dont like to switch back and forth just to update my zune. I'm probally not gonna get rid of xp until vista is well into its 2nd or even 3rd year.

Most all the ones I have seen that work were vista Rc1. I have Rc2 so thats probally why im having problems, but I have seem some that claim to be in Rc2. I'm not blaming microsoft for this but it is a little weird that it is microsoft's product and they didnt make it have compatibility with theyre next major OS which is in RTM right now.
__________________
DFI infinity RS 482
3Gig Corsair PC 3200
AMD X2 4400+ 2.4ghz
250Gig Samsung SATA 3.0 7200rpm
250Gig Hatachi SATA 3.0 7200 rpm
60Gig Maxtor ATA 5400 rpm
2x160Gig WD SATA 7200 rpm RAID-0
ATI X850XT 256mb
Antec TruePower 430
The Napster is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
I doubt that a Zune is made by Microsoft, and the XBOX is not made by Microsoft. Probably some Japanese maker like Creative for the MP3, and Sony for the XBOX.

Sony actually making something? Their OS's aren't even made by themselves...
Welcome back.

It doesn't matter who actually manufactures the Zune or the Xbox360, but they are products designed by Microsoft. That, and the MP3 player should just be USB mass storage so it will work on any OS. I see no reason why they should complicate simple things like transferring data to an external harddrive.

Stupid Microsoft...
The General is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
The Napster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my car
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to The Napster Send a message via MSN to The Napster
Default

Right on General!
__________________
DFI infinity RS 482
3Gig Corsair PC 3200
AMD X2 4400+ 2.4ghz
250Gig Samsung SATA 3.0 7200rpm
250Gig Hatachi SATA 3.0 7200 rpm
60Gig Maxtor ATA 5400 rpm
2x160Gig WD SATA 7200 rpm RAID-0
ATI X850XT 256mb
Antec TruePower 430
The Napster is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 12:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Actually M$ didnt design the Zune. They are just the financial backers of it. The Zune 2.0 or whatever the next version will be will be totally done by M$. Right now they are getting into the new market and had to have someone else do all the legwork for them.

I know that by the time Vista hits the markets in Jan that the Zune software shoud be updated enough to run on it. As of right now it isnt updated to run on the Betas. It doent run on the RTM either since that is what i run. Which is alright. For now. But by Jan they should have it updated.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 02:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
@TallDude-
Nice to have you back with us.
Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Welcome back.
Thanks. I was bored without TF...I was mostly just surfing other forums. But non are as lively as TF.


Also, don't expect me to be showing up in Off Topic for about four-months.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 12:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Also, don't expect me to be showing up in Off Topic for about four-months.
Why's that?
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.