Zoom in Vista? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2007, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Zoom in Vista?

One of the things I miss from Linux with Compiz-Fusion is the ability to press the windows button and scroll the mouse wheel to zoom into the screen. I know about the zoom in the bottom right corner of Internet Explorer, but that's not as good as being able to freely zoom into anything on the screen. Does anyone know of a way to do this in Windows?
__________________

forrestcupp is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Zoom in Vista?

Have your tried holding Ctrl while using the scroll wheel on your mouse?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 05:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Zoom in Vista?

That's pretty awesome, but it only works in IE. I want something that works with everything. In Linux, I could zoom into the desktop, icons, menus, or anything that was displayed on my screen if I wanted to.

I'm not trying to start an argument about Linux being better. I just was wondering if maybe there is some kind of 3rd party app or something that makes that possible in Windows because that's one feature that I used a lot.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 06:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Zoom in Vista?

IT works on firefox as well as IE. It also works in Opera. It works in any browser.

If you want all teh icons and all that bigger you have to adjust them thru the properties menu. There is no 3rd party app that just magically zooms in on Windows like it does Linux.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Zoom in Vista?

Well, again, I'm looking for something that will zoom into anything on my screen, not just a browser or icons. If nothing like that exists, I guess I won't be able to do it.

Thanks for your help. I really wasn't meaning to start something to get you upset. I was just hoping there was a way to do it.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 10:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Zoom in Vista?

I was just saying that there isnt a app like that on Windows. The only way to do it is with going thru the properties and zooming in that way.

I personally dont see the point. What is the sense in zooming on anything. If you cant see modify the screen so you can. What purpose does a zoom have? But that is all just personal preference.

Even a google search shows nothing.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 10:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Zoom in Vista?

Something similar to what you're talking about:

Start > Programs > Accessories > Accessibility > Magnifier.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 08:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Zoom in Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
I personally dont see the point. What is the sense in zooming on anything. If you cant see modify the screen so you can. What purpose does a zoom have? But that is all just personal preference.
There are many possible uses for the zoom function. I used it to easily and quickly get closer looks at small pictures. I also used it while viewing Fox OnDemand where you can watch episodes of their shows. They don't allow you to watch full screen. So I just zoomed in and made it full screen myself. The zoom function in Beryl or Compiz also smooths out what is zoomed so it doesn't look blocky. It ended up looking slightly better than it did unzoomed.

Also it is a great accessibility feature for people with bad eyesight who are normally ok with a regular screen, but sometimes need help. You can just easily zoom into anything to read or see it easier. Small windowed games could be zoomed to take up more of your screen and still be playable. The possibilities are left to the imagination.

Just because Windows doesn't have something that Linux has doesn't mean that that feature is useless.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Something similar to what you're talking about:

Start > Programs > Accessories > Accessibility > Magnifier.
Thank you. That is a great feature and it's the closest thing I've found to what I'm looking for.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 10:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Zoom in Vista?

That reminds of the time , I did community service at an elderly place , and they used a program named ZoomText, it Zooms a lot, they had some sort of eye disease , I helped many it felt good
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Zoom in Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
That reminds of the time , I did community service at an elderly place , and they used a program named ZoomText, it Zooms a lot, they had some sort of eye disease , I helped many it felt good
Wow. ZoomText is pretty awesome. Too bad it's about $400 for the basic version.
__________________

forrestcupp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.