Zonealarm is hiding in my system! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2005, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Angry Zonealarm is hiding in my system!

I had problems with zonealrm about 3 weeks ago so i had to delete all the folders manually from "safe mode". so then i went to download a different firewall (outpost firewall), i pressed install and it told me that another firewall was running (zonealarm) so wen i install the new firewall i just get the bsod, is there a way/program to remove zonealarm fully, i really need a better firewall as im running on the built in 1(which i do not trust) so please help!?

BRoWZ is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
ohGrFreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak

since you deleted the files, i suggest running a registry cleaner now. i use regsupreme, works fine.

ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

If you want a program removed, never attempt to manually delete the files until you have used the uninstallation wizard. You should be able to remove Zonealarm through the Add/Remove Programs in the Control Panel, or by typing the following into run:

C:\Program Files\ZoneAlarm\zauninst.exe*

*Note: Use the proper directory where you have installed the application

Delete any files that the wizard doesn't manage to get afterwards.
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 10:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

you are going to have to reinstall it then unistall it. I have that problem before. it put some vector stuff in the background to make it work even if you exited it
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.