ZIP files in Windows 2000? Why do I have to use WinZip? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2004, 03:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to Dasein512
Default

Obviolion wrong!

HOLOCRON DEFINATELY WRONG YOU CAN aND I DID
YOU JUST TAKE THE WHOLE FOLDER AND COMPRESS IT (or ZIP IT) and whoa you got it! So there, take that . rofl
__________________

Dasein512 is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 03:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dasein512
Obviolion wrong!

HOLOCRON DEFINATELY WRONG YOU CAN aND I DID
YOU JUST TAKE THE WHOLE FOLDER AND COMPRESS IT (or ZIP IT) and whoa you got it! So there, take that . rofl
Huh? I don't understand your reply, what do you mean by "take the whole folder"?

And take it easy, no need to shout!
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 05:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

umm... and how exactly did you compress it?

cause as far as i know, windows doesnt have a default compressor. but then again, i installed winRAR right after i put in my OS
oblivion is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 07:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Wait a minute, are you talking about HD compression??? Not just single folders, but where you use HD compression to save room on the drive? I'm still trying to figure out just EXACTLY what it is he's wanting...
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 07:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I also know you can compress files in 2kserver (and probably pro) and browse them like they were a normal folder. They appear in green lettering. Is that what he's talking about????
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 08:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

well, i think i know what kind of compression hes talking about....but its not really compression cause well, it doesnt really compress much. Its pretty stupid. Im telling ya, winRAR is what you want if u want to compress a file well.
oblivion is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 09:03 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I never use Windows compression, it only saves maybe a few MB out of 100 at max, and sometimes it actually takes up more space than the file is supposed to be!!!!
I use WinRAR because it integrates itself when you right click on a .zip or .rar, is easy to use, and actually compresses a great deal more
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 09:37 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
I also know you can compress files in 2kserver (and probably pro) and browse them like they were a normal folder. They appear in green lettering. Is that what he's talking about????
You got it, Windows 2000, XP have native compression available when used on a NTFS partition. It is there just as a convenience for the people that hesitate on getting a third party utility.... we all know there are people out there with such a train of thought.

For some reason where I work at, there is a stigma about third party utilities, I'm always fighting to get things accomplished because... MS doesn't always have the easiest or practical utilities to get things done.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 09:44 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I use a lot of third party programs, and very few Microsoft programs (appart from Windows itself)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 08:12 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I know EXACTLY what you mean by the stigmata. We use the native compression here on our severs. Thats the only thing I can think of that he's talking about, though... why he would have that on a home system, I dunno... I'm still at a loss to EXACTLY what he wants this compression utility to do. Is he wanting it to compress the folders but be able to access them like any other normal folder without bringing up a secondary program? Hmm....
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.