ZIP files in Windows 2000? Why do I have to use WinZip? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2004, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to Dasein512
Default ZIP files in Windows 2000? Why do I have to use WinZip?

I had Windows Me and have seen Windows XP, they have compressed folders which works like a zipping program, but I know have Windows 2000 Professional, and I have to use WinZip, is there a way around this? Because I dont like WinZip because it's interface is not like Windows Explorer where I can thumbnail my photos. Hope someone has the solution! THANKS!
__________________

Dasein512 is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 11:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

use WinRar!!--> http://www.rarlab.com/download.htm
__________________

subdivizion is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 11:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to Dasein512
Default

WinRar doesn't do any better, I am looking to find out how to configure compressed folders that seems to be on Windows Me and Windows XP already. Anybody with help? thanks
Dasein512 is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 10:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dasein512
WinRar doesn't do any better, I am looking to find out how to configure compressed folders that seems to be on Windows Me and Windows XP already. Anybody with help? thanks
Here is the deal, the zipped file only works on your system as long as it is formatted in NTFS. If you copy a compressed file from your XP machine onto a floppy disk, you will notice that the file size will be larger. In order to KEEP the file compressed when transfering it somewhere else (Email) you will have to use a third party software such as Winzip or Winrar. Not much we can do about it.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 10:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, the best of these are going to be 3rd party applications. I personally use Winace. www.winace.com
I keep it all over my PCs so I never really have to download it when I need it for a new PC or a client. The interface is easy, you can do a little more than Winzip and the install method and interface is clever (and a little funny)

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 12:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to Dasein512
Default Holocron???

Here is the deal, the zipped file only works on your system as long as it is formatted in NTFS. If you copy a compressed file from your XP machine onto a floppy disk, you will notice that the file size will be larger. In order to KEEP the file compressed when transfering it somewhere else (Email) you will have to use a third party software such as Winzip or Winrar. Not much we can do about it.
Dasein512 is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to Dasein512
Default

Holocron???

I understood what you said, but why dont they act like seperate compressed folders like Windows Me or Windows XP, I would like to do that.
Dasein512 is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 04:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Heh, the gloves have come off Anyhow, I personally like winace, too. The best thing to do is look in some books, find out EXACTLY what the difference is in these file tables and then maybe you'd better understand what we are getting at. The question on "why" is kind of a layered question. You'd have to understand some other things first before you'd understand the reason why.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-11-2004, 11:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dasein512
Holocron???

I understood what you said, but why dont they act like seperate compressed folders like Windows Me or Windows XP, I would like to do that.
Dasein,

The reason they don't act like seperate compressed folders is because the NTFS File system is the on that does the actual compressing. That's why you can just open up compressed folders and they look 'normal.'

When you copy the files to your floppy disk, it is running a different file system (Usually FAT) FAT does not support native compression or encryption so the file defaults to its normal file size.

If you want to keep the files compressed, you HAVE to use a third party software, that is the ONLY way to keep the files compressed regardless of the file system.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-11-2004, 11:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

i dont see why using a third party program is such a big problem.....

just suck it up and use winrar or something xD
__________________

oblivion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.