Your favorite router brand? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2004, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default Your favorite router brand?

Ok, i have a d-link. And honestly, i hate it, lol. I was wondering what brands you guys like. I know linksys is good. Has any one had bad experiences with it?

What else would you guys recommend?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 01:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Default

I have a Linksys 802.11b in my house. It's allright. i get a decent signal from anywhere in my house but I like orinoco better. Their wireless laptop cards have the ability to connect antennas to them so you can get a signal from like 5 miles away. Great for some occasional wardriving, hehe.
__________________

__________________
R.Y.N.O. (Rip Ya a New One)
Diabolic Minotaur ATX Case
Asus A8V Deluxe MoBo Wifi Edition
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU
2x Corsair 512MB PC3200 DIMM\'s
2x Western Digital 120GB Serial ATA Harddrives in RAID 0
Asus 16x DVD-rom Drive
Pioneer 16x DVD+rw/-rw DL Drive
eVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Aspire 500w PSU
Circa219 is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 01:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to sKaD Send a message via Yahoo to sKaD
Default

Linksys
__________________
:: Free iPod! :: FireFox! ::

http://img67.photobucket.com/albums/...4d/sig/sig.jpg
<font size=\"1\">System Specs:
<u>Work Machine</u>: Apple G5 w/ Dual 1.8GHz, 1GB PC3200 RAM, 180GB HDD - OS X.3

<u>Play Machine</u>: AMD Duron 1.6GHz, 512MB PC3200 RAM, 40GB HDD, Some Crapy Vid Card - Win XP Pro</font>
sKaD is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 02:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Default

I have a D-Link router and it works just fine
Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 04:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

have to agree with the linksys
jaksback is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I have a TRENDnet TW100-BRF114 wired router with built in firewall, works great, no problems.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 11:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

i have US-Robotics 9106 Wireless Router/Modem/Switch, its cool.

also i have Linksys VPN WRV54G (cool looks), but i dont want clutter, as it requires additional modem to be attached with.

i'm very well satisfied with my US-Robotics. as i'm using their products since my first PC. never let me down
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 11:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Default

i am using prolink now. but this router really bad and it canr work fine.
the wireless connection is very unstable.
in fact, i have to restart the modem after certain period.
i am using broadband connection with 384Kbps, but it is slower than dial-up...
i am too disappointed with that.

now, i am trying to ask my landlord to buy a D-Link router.
but is this works fine?
How about Linksys?is it good?
__________________
The important thing is not to stop questioning...
Albert Einstein
ZoneFire is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 11:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Linksys, Netgear, D-Link, US Robotics are all reliable, and Best. get anyone of them.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 12:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

I used Netgear for years never had any problems. Plus I also like there study metal cases, don't know if they still make them in metal anymore though. But Linksys is also a good brand, thats what im using now.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.