Your Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2005, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to shrivledbeaver
Default Your Computer

JUst post things about your comp

MS XP Professional
version 2002
service pack 1 (I can't DL SP2 from MS cause I have the bottleg version of XP and might get caught)

AMD Anthlon Processor
897 MHz
368 MB of RAM

My comp is crap any suggestions to make it better?
__________________

shrivledbeaver is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Well for one you could get buy windows so you aren't at risk to security exploits and you could buy a new PC or upgrade your current one.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Windows Vista 5231 (Ligit)
2.40Ghz Processor
480 RAM
32Meg Vid Card
Realtek Family Network Card
SIS651 Display
Lucsoft Modem
80 gig HD
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

mine's in ma sig

i'm going to get a 6600gt soon hopefully because gaming is kinda slow and crappy in some newer games.

And a tv card and bigger HDD
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Your Computer

Quote:
Originally posted by shrivledbeaver
JUst post things about your comp

MS XP Professional
version 2002
service pack 1 (I can't DL SP2 from MS cause I have the bottleg version of XP and might get caught)

AMD Anthlon Processor
897 MHz
368 MB of RAM

My comp is crap any suggestions to make it better?
You could go to the microsoft website and order a sp2 cd, its free and you shouldn't get caught.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Yes you will mikee. During install it checks for a valid CD key.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Use a volume license key
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Sp2 installed fine on my computer and my xp is bootleged, but it might have been before microsoft started valiating that stuff.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 04:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Warez thats against the law for one and for two I'm sure not to many people know a volume license key.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 01:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

windows will NOT track you down for windows xp pro

my school is using the same copy for the 500 computers in their school and its sp2 as well
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 02:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

ur school will have a Licence with Microsoft for 500 Machines

My Copy of Xp is bottlenecked and i found a valid cdkey that worked wiv SP2 so i now run SP2
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.