Yes!! Computer not working, pleaaw help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2003, 12:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 51

you know, just a couple of weeks ago, i was trying to install linux on a machine, and i kept getting corrupt installs... even after re-downloading and re-burning. turned out to be a CD-ROM drive starting to go bad. Ive you've got another drive to swap, try that so you can rule it out or not.

MojoInKansas is offline  
Old 12-22-2003, 01:50 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

i have never gotten the windows will shut dont to protect message, but i would agree with MojoInKansas. whenever i had a problem installing win2k or winxp on a machine it was either the cd drive would not read the disc or the OS did not like the way the memory was configured or it did not like the memory brand. sometimes i would have to move the memory around and try all sorts of wierd things

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-22-2003, 02:27 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW

I would disagree about upgrading the OS at all.
Its a better idea to freshly install the OS on a newly formatted HDD. In the long run you sum out any problems that the previous OS may of had or may conflict with with both system files merged together. It also makes a mess of your registry.
It is more hassling as you need to backup all your important documents etc, but best overall.

If youre using a WinXP "upgrade" CD, you still can install it without having a preinstalled OS. The difference is that it will ask you for verification of your older OS so have your Win98 CD handy
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 12-22-2003, 09:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 51

that may be how he's doing it. in a prev post he said he "built the machine yesterday" so there COULDN'T be a whole helluva lot on the HD to begin with. this whole thing smells suspiciously of hardware to me.
MojoInKansas is offline  
Old 12-22-2003, 11:36 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13

I've seen ram speed make a difference, try running it a bit slower (bios setting)during the install. also I had 1 comp that would only install XP to an ata HD, installing to sata would bsd all day.
dr.dos is offline  
Old 12-22-2003, 11:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
Argilus's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 128
Send a message via AIM to Argilus

Turns out I was just having massive troubles with my RAID. But all is fine, but what a pain in an ***!

Argilus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.