Yellow Screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 01:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Default Yellow Screen

I have Windows SE & Mozilla Firefox. Every so often the screen takes on a yellow tint. It goes away after a short time. Is it a sign of any problem? How can i fix it? (Please, write English, i don't know computerese!)
__________________

Replikant is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 01:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

It is probably your monitor. Try to change the controls on it, and see if it stops.

If that doesn't work; try another monitor.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Default

Just what do you mean by "change the controls"? (I have a LaCie Electron 19 Blue II monitor. No others.)
__________________
Where have you been all your life?
Replikant is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 01:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Go through the menu system on the monitor (there should be some buttons), and look for the Color. Play around until the monitor looks better.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 01:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Default

OK - i don't want to press the wrong one & screw it up. Five buttons on front are as follows, left to right:

FPM.
Downward-pointing triangle.
Right-pointing triangle.
Minus sign
Plus sign.

My next move?
__________________
Where have you been all your life?
Replikant is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to evelmunkey
Default

If it comes and goes, I would be led to believe that th monitor is fine. I would think it is more likely a connection problem. Make sure the vga/dvi cable is completely plugged in and not loose. Also, make sure nothing is shorting the connection on the video card itself. The second one is most likely not the proble, I just had that happen to me (but its rare). One my my slot covers fell down and was shorting the connection causing the screen to be different shades.
__________________
evelmunkey is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Default

OK - how do i identify the vga/dvi cable?
Replikant is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

the DVI cable is the one on the top the VGA cable is the one on the bottom make sure those are seated right.

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 09:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Default

Seems to have worked, thanks!
__________________

__________________
Where have you been all your life?
Replikant is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.