yahoo messenger question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2006, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default yahoo messenger question

right ive got yahoo messenger and whenever i go onto yahoo games its obviously making me appear online on Yahoo messenger as i keep getting mates pm me when im trying to play a game, and im not even signed in on YM and its not even in the task bar so its completly shutdown, also in the options i set it to "dont let my friends see im playing games" or whatever it says i cant remember now!

So why do i appear online to my mates when im just playing games on yahoo website
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 05:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

have you tried using Trillian?

It's much better than Yahoo Messenger, and you can customize status.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
have you tried using Trillian?

It's much better than Yahoo Messenger, and you can customize status.
so i could import all my yahoo messenger contacts to trillian and use that instead? but i dont see how that would cure my problem, im still gunna show as online when im playing games arent i?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 07:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Trillian automatically has them.

It imports every contact from Yahoo Messenger, so dont uninstall Yahoo Messenger.

Do you set your status as "away" when you do online gaming?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you sign in to yahoo games? trillian is good..i use it
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 07:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
have you tried using Trillian?

It's much better than Yahoo Messenger, and you can customize status.
Trillian is better than Yahoo Messenger, are u kidding me.

when i download trillian, i just uninstalled it in the same minute, i didn't like it at all. it doesn't have good features like yahoo messnger
maroon1 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 10:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

as i said i dont think installing another IM will stop my problem as i still get people from my yahoo messenger pm me when im signed into yahoo games.
I dont think theres anyway i can stop people from seeing me is there?
someone said " do i set my status to away"?? how can i set anything when my yahoo messenger isnt even on!?
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.