Xp x64 wont start up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2005, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Default Xp x64 wont start up

I just installed Windows XP 64bit edition about a week and a half ago, and it has been working perfectly. I just got some new parts, 2 case fans a PCI fan, and a hard drive fan. After installing them, I forgot to plug the hard drive cables back in, and when I started windows it didn’t work right. So I plugged them back in and Windows started fine.

I turned the computer off for a little while, and came back later, now Windows won’t start. It reads, “Windows could not start because the following file is missing:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM. You can attempt to repair this file by Starting Windows Setup using the original Setup CD-ROM. Select ‘r’ at the first screen to start repair.

So what I did was…got my Windows XP Pro x64 and put it in, went to Windows Startup, and ‘r’ is not an option. My 2 options, before it starts reinstalling windows are…. Press F6 if installing a third party SCSI or RAID driver, and press F2 to start Windows Automated System Recovery. So I pressed F2, and it says I need to insert the floppy called Windows Automated System Recovery Disk in the floppy drive then it will continue. I don’t have a floppy called that, because the only way to get this version of windows is to download it from the Microsoft website, and you don’t get anything. So I don’t know what to do, the only thing I could think of doing, is throwing that file onto the computer over a network, but (1) I can’t get into the Windows folder over the network, and (2) I have Windows XP Home on this computer and don’t know if the file is different the XP PRO x64. So I don’t think I can or want to do that. Anyway, I don’t know what to do, I could re-install windows, but I don’t really want to do that again. Any help would be appreciated. thanks

fej180 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760

If you have only had this install for a week.
Re-do it.

brady is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
aj2003's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094

ve tried using the repair to copy my lost ntldr file back to where tis supposed to be, its a right pain, all u can do is format and do again sry dude
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2

Well, I have one idea in mind, if that doesnt work, then formatting, thanks though
fej180 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.