XP wont start up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2005, 12:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default XP wont start up

For some reason, my XP pro wont start up. When it goes to the loading screen where the blue bar goes back and forth, it just stays stuck there for approximately 10 minutes and then a blue error message comes up that says:

a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer
SESSION3_INITIALIZATION_FAILED

I tried to start up in safe mode but i get an error message that says "hard error"

I have no idea what to do and i dont want to lose any of my files... please advise me as to how i should go about this problem

-Thanks in advance
__________________

gorajat is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

try removing your cdrom drive. ive seen a few cases where ppl removed their cdrom drive and cleared the error.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

try re-installing windows xp completely if you have the disc. Insert the disk before the xp startup screen and follow the instuctions for repair.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 12:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

ry rebooting in sfae mode and see if the works becouse if its not its most likely to be a hardware problem..
zenyora is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 01:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

make sure nothing is loose in your computer, as in your ram or cd drive or anything like that. (it shouldn't be but you never know)
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 03:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Format and install
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 03:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default Re: XP wont start up

Quote:
Originally posted by SkyHi
Format and install
ROFL!!! Good one!

Quote:
Originally posted by gorajat
I tried to start up in safe mode but i get an error message that says "hard error"
Well, as the error states, this is going to be a hard problem.

Honestly, though, just make yerself a set of boot floppies and boot up from them. Better still, if you have the CD available, use it. Don't reformat. When the Windows setup comes up, choose to repair the installation. If you don't see that option, just reinstall Windows overtop of the current installation.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.