What settings did you toy around with in user management?
You might have accidentally reset your user profile, which would remove all of your files in say your My Documents, My Music and any other "My" folder.
Easiest way to tell would be to search for a file name that you know you had on your computer before you started messing around. If it's still there, you have a hope, if not..... sorry bud.
Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!