xp vs pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2007, 07:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default xp vs pro

Hello as you can see in there picture below my friend states that xp pro is alot better than xp home. I know it support more features that mainly servers would use but he believes there is a performance increase on pro and that home runs less games then xp pro. I have been trying to tell him they are identical besides the added feature here and there but i think everyone here needs to knock some sense into him.

I hope I'm right or I'll get a lot of **** handed to me
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 96
Default Re: xp vs pro

To be honest he's probably just scared to find out he wasted money, he just wants to put himself above everyone else.
__________________

Uberg is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 04:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Default Re: xp vs pro

Home is a locked down version of Pro with some missing features. As far as games or performance go - I would ask him why he thinks this, its like saying a car goes faster because it has a CD player "Pro" rather then a cassette player "Home". Overall itís the same thing, just has some different functionality and options. Although I do prefer XP Pro I hate having locked down version of anything.
Ops_Tech is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 04:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: xp vs pro

apart from server and development purposes, i haven't found any difference in performance what so ever. though, you can say, PRO is slower (to some extents) as its running extra tasks that HOME isn't
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 04:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: xp vs pro

your friend has no idea what he's talking about.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 01:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to abadjay
Default Re: xp vs pro

along with what everyone else says (especially gurusan) pro has the ability to use software RAID. only if your friend has a RAID-0 or RAID-5 implemented (which im sure he dosent) there is no performance upgrade.
abadjay is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 01:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: xp vs pro

performance wise it is the same. pro gives you more networking options, and can support multiple cpu's (dual and quad cores are supported, but say a server with that has a dual socket 775 mobo and 2 socket 775 cpu's, you need pro for the 2 cpu's to be recognized)
macdawg is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 08:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: xp vs pro

yeah those are exactly what I've been telling him, just wanted him to hear from all of use because he won't listen to me. thanks guys
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 10:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: xp vs pro

Five editions of Windows XP compared

Easiest way to solve it. Right from the M$ site.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 11:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: xp vs pro

XP Pro and Home differ only in added programs. speed has nothing to do with it other than the possibility of slowing it down, but not to a noticeable extent. Right now I'm attempting to cut home down to a few k's of memory, but even as much as I've cut, there's not much of a difference in speed, just more space and no added programs working without my knowledge
__________________

SirCyber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I buy a artci freezer 64 pro or more ram? dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-22-2007 07:39 PM
x1950 pro thirdshiftdj New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-22-2007 02:21 PM
Is now a good time to buy a macbook pro? ulater6000 Apple and Mac 13 09-22-2007 11:24 AM
Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM saywhat5959 Microsoft Windows and Software 15 09-21-2007 07:39 PM
PC for Pro tools, pro recording / mixing, maybe Macintosh ? Eclipse7 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-19-2007 11:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.