Xp Vs. Hp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2002, 09:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
Angry Xp Vs. Hp

I have been working for two days trying to get my computer hardware to work with XP. I lost my digital camera, joystick, and my all in one HP 380. I can't live without the latter. After looking everywhere for a patch I gave up. MS suggested that I load a generic printer driver but the scanner would never work. I then uninstalled XP and went back to ME. The 380 still would not work so I downloaded the 15 meg driver from HP and tried to reinstall. The prompt says that the 380 is still installed to run uninstall, which I have done several times. the same window comes up stating that it is still in there and refuses to install or reinstall. I need all the help I can get. What happened, did HP refuse to pay off MS to get their scanners working? Whats the deal


Speed is offline  
Old 09-18-2002, 02:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,212

Clean off the remains in the registry. You can access it from the run command and type in msconfig. Be warn that if you make a mistake of deleting the wrong key, your computer will not function properly. And there's always the option of formatting.

Chopper is offline  
Old 09-18-2002, 06:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to AzSundown

You run regedit, not msconfig to remove the keys from the registry.
AzSundown is offline  
Old 09-18-2002, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

Use a tool such as RegCleaner to help ease it up, though you still have to be kinda careful at what you are modifying/deleting.
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 09-21-2002, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to SePhErUm Send a message via Yahoo to SePhErUm

Get a second hdd.. Copy the nessarcarys to the second one...
format the C: and install XP.. I have a Input/Output problem with my compaq.. Yet it only appears in Windows NT based systems.
Brandon Cook
Pentium II 333MHz
96 MB Ram
Geforce 4 MX 440
2 SCSI 4GB Hdds\'
anything else?
SePhErUm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.