The XP, Vista, & Direct X Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2007, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default The XP, Vista, & Direct X Question

I know DirectX 9 runs on XP, and DirectX 10 runs Vista.

My next question is, does DirectX 10 run on XP and DirectX 9 run on Vista. When I say "run", I mean fully supported.

In other words, I guess, If I want to upgrade to an 8 series card, which is DirectX 10 (I think?), do I have to go with Vista in order to unlock it's full DirectX 10 potential?
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 09:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: The XP, Vista, & Direct X Question

From what I understand XP can run DX9 only, while Vista can run DX9 and DX10.

So yeah, a DX10 capable card would need Vista in order to run DX10 games.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: The XP, Vista, & Direct X Question

DX10 doesn't work on XP, and I believe DX10 is compatible w/ DX9 games (I thinks o, anyway). I know there's some games you have to get a fix that'll support/"emulate" the DX9 in DX10.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: The XP, Vista, & Direct X Question

DX10 does not "run" on XP. It has been hacked to XP but does not function within gameplay. Just can run some demo's with it.

DX9 does run on Vista. I have explained it several times in other topics. Just ahve to get the DX9 runtimes or the SDK and isntall it. After that you will have no problem running anything DX9 or DX10 in Vista. Plus installing the Runtimes or SDK does not overwrite the DX10 isntall. This method is only needed from some older games like Doom 3 which require DX9 to be installed. Most newer games will recognize Vista and that it can run DX9 and not ask to install it.

If you want a 8 series card then yes. You will have to get Vista to get its full potential. Considering even with the hacks to get games like Halo 2 and later this Crysis, they will not work with DX10 on XP. So Vista will be the only way to go.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 06:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Re: The XP, Vista, & Direct X Question

Alright, Thanks!
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Business (Media Center Question) Freebirth Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-01-2007 04:51 PM
Windows Vista Networking Question seanramdeo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-25-2007 07:11 AM
Dual boot Question with Vista and XP (help appreciated) Deadpixel Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-29-2007 07:00 AM
Question about hard drive partitions in Vista ? weswes Microsoft Windows and Software 0 06-05-2007 02:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.