XP? Vista? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2007, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default XP? Vista?

I am thinking about getting Vista but I am not totally sure yet so I am just looking for your guys opinions. I am really big into gaming will XP games work on Vista? just want a few opinions and if you could answer my question thanks.
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default

xp games will work on vista but as shown on toms hardware the games will run slower some games (i think it was unreal tournament) had their fps rate cut in HALF, so if i were you i would probably wait until theyve sorted it out better or a new directx10 game comes out(youll need a directx 10 video card too tho..)
__________________

__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 05:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default

ok so this might be a dumb question what about having 2 OS on one hard drive? or having one hard drive with XP and another with Vista is there any way to do that? or no
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 05:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Yes their is, it's called dual booting. Google it, and you'll find plenty of it.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 06:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default

ok thanks alot if i have any more questions I'll let you know
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 08:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AMD6415
ok so this might be a dumb question what about having 2 OS on one hard drive? or having one hard drive with XP and another with Vista is there any way to do that? or no
As the poster above commented, it's called dual booting.

Basically, you split your hard drive in two independent parts called 'partitions'. You can then install different OSs in these partitions. You also install a "boot loader", a small program that lets you select which OS you want to boot into.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default

ok i found a whole bunch on doing it with one hard drive but what about doing it on 2 hard drives? I can't find anything on that. Can you do it that way? if you can could you let me know the basics for doing it that way that would be great. I would do it with the one hard drive but I don't have enough room on it. thanks
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You can either partition your current hard drive with PartitionMagic, or install a new hard drive as a slave, and Install Vista on that.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You can either partition your current hard drive with PartitionMagic, or install a new hard drive as a slave, and Install Vista on that.

http://lifehacker.com/software/top/w...sta-179906.php
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 06:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

That's a nice find, Talldude. I'm sure AMD6415 will find it helpful.

About doing a dual-boot with two hard drives, it's pretty much the same thing. You just make the "Vista partition" on the second drive.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.