XP or Vista? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Wat do you think about the site?
Looks awesome! I even registered on the forums 0 0%
Looks pretty wicked 0 0%
Its okay... 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2007, 03:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Default XP or Vista?

What operating system is best?
__________________

sTATICO7 is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 04:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

I would have to say Vista because of DX10
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 04:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Xp Pro for now,Vista is going to take a good while to get all the bug's out of it
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 08:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Can't really judge this yet. But my guess is that XP has fewer problems than Vista.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

personally i like xp pro the best....not getting vista for a long while, and definately not getting it until DX10 games are out....
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 09:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Poon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hmammen
personally i like xp pro the best....not getting vista for a long while, and definately not getting it until DX10 games are out....
What is this DX10 that you speak of?
Poon is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 09:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

XP Pro, for now anyway. I can't justify the cost of upgrading to Vista either.
__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 09:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

please post in correct forum...
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 10:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Poon
What is this DX10 that you speak of?
DX10 is DirectX 10. It is the next generation of shader modules for games and such. It is ONLY available in Vista. It will not be available for XP at all.

DX9 Scene


DX10 Scene



Notice the difference.

My Vote goes to Vista. Since i have used it since Beta 1 back in July of 2005 i have seen it come a far way. Not that it is final it does have a couple of bugs but overall i think it is a step ahead of XP. Plus i have no problem running anything on it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 11:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I vote for Windows XP Pro. If you get it without service packs, it runs really fast, about as fast as 2000.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.