XP and Vista? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2006, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default XP and Vista?

I want to install the vista beta on my pc. I want to use the same hard drive, but use a different partition.
I want to keep XP on my other partition.
How do tell the BIOS what partition to boot from? Do I need a seperate program to manage this?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 08:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ncjimn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 471
Default

http://www.lifehacker.com/software/t...sta-179906.php
__________________

ncjimn is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 08:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to killux
Default

Yea you do need a seperate program to manage this. Its called a bootloader. But Windows Vista already comes with one.

http://www.lifehacker.com/software/t...sta-179906.php
__________________
Search Google Before You Post Anything
killux is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 11:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killux
Yea you do need a seperate program to manage this. Its called a bootloader. But Windows Vista already comes with one.

http://www.lifehacker.com/software/t...sta-179906.php
Thanks installed and booted fine. Runs great. Will have to mess around with all the new things.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.