XP Upgrade VS. XP with SP2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2006, 06:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default XP Upgrade VS. XP with SP2

I'm gettin a new XP disc (since windows says i may be a victim of conterfieting ). Well i have XP Pro right now but i dont want to dish out $200 for it on Newegg so i've decided to go with Home. Well theres a $100 difference between XP Home Upgrade VS. XP Home with SP2. Now i have XP Pro, so will the Upgrade version work since already have XP. At start-up right now it asks me to get a genuine version of windows so do you think if i get the upgrade version it'll work?
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

The upgrade will only work to get you from a previous vresion. You will need to get the full version. The difference is that one is an upgrade, while the other is the full OS. Big difference... Not really, but as far as licensing goes it is.

Good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Alright.... well i dont want to spend $200 on an OS since i have a budget for my upgrades.... how about OEM? like this is $85... too good to be true?!: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16837102059
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 02:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

OEM means you don't get any support from MS, but it's the whole thing...
Inaris is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 06:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Ok.... why couldnt i get support from MS? Can i still receive all the critical updates and everything? Right now MS wont let me get the critical updates cuz i'm a victim of counterfieting
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 07:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you can still get all the updates and somewhat free tech support
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 07:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

OEM just means that they expect the OEM proider to supply the support for the OS. not the updates. That is MS. It's just if you have to call someon for help, you can't call MS, unless you want to pay. If you are comfortable with the OS, then don't worry about it and just get the OEM. If you think you will need help, then get the retail as then you can call MS for help a few times.
Inaris is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 07:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

ok sweet i'll get the OEM then since i kno XP and if i do need help..... I GOT TF! lol

thanks for the help.... savin me alot of money now i just gotta decide which crossfire mobo to get...
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.