xp transfer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2003, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29
Question xp transfer

my parents have bought a pc and have windows xp pre-built into the system. i myself are in the process of building a pc and was wondering whether or not it is possible to copy that version of xp onto my new one
__________________

cturns is offline  
Old 07-11-2003, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 604
Default

take the hard drive out of that system put it in a new system with another hd and copy everything from the hd to the other pne and then put one of them in their computer.
__________________

__________________
Search TF <b>before</b> posting!<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
randy is offline  
Old 07-11-2003, 04:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29
Default

if i then wipe the hard drive i keep will i be able to reboot windows using a boot disc
cturns is offline  
Old 07-11-2003, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

uhh..idk..but if its pre-installed..didnt the company that they bought the computer from give them the Windows XP CD?
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 07-11-2003, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29
Default

no is it possible to obtain one from microsoft
cturns is offline  
Old 07-11-2003, 05:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

yeah,..ofcourse,..but you have to buy the disks though.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-14-2003, 08:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you have an XP CD, install to your HDD, move to other computer and ONLY move rego files, because if you move everything, it will copy drivers from their PC as well and you don't want it running on the wrong driver's do you?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.