xp transfer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2003, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29
Question xp transfer

my parents have bought a pc and have windows xp pre-built into the system. i myself are in the process of building a pc and was wondering whether or not it is possible to copy that version of xp onto my new one

cturns is offline  
Old 07-11-2003, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 604

take the hard drive out of that system put it in a new system with another hd and copy everything from the hd to the other pne and then put one of them in their computer.

Search TF <b>before</b> posting!<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
randy is offline  
Old 07-11-2003, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29

if i then wipe the hard drive i keep will i be able to reboot windows using a boot disc
cturns is offline  
Old 07-11-2003, 03:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828

uhh..idk..but if its pre-installed..didnt the company that they bought the computer from give them the Windows XP CD?
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 07-11-2003, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29

no is it possible to obtain one from microsoft
cturns is offline  
Old 07-11-2003, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015

yeah,..ofcourse,..but you have to buy the disks though.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-14-2003, 07:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

if you have an XP CD, install to your HDD, move to other computer and ONLY move rego files, because if you move everything, it will copy drivers from their PC as well and you don't want it running on the wrong driver's do you?

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.