XP strikes again ! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2005, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default XP strikes again !

I have a dell 4500 . I thought I would be nice and give my daughter my cdrw drive because she needs it more than me. I pulled it out and installed it in her comp and all was good. When I booted up my dell it gave me a message saying because of recent hardware changes I must activate windows within 3 days. I thought no problem. I go online and it wont work and now I have to call MS. Then I call and get questioned by a MS employee that could barely speak english. He gave me a new install number and told me if I reinstall a cdrw later I will have to go through this whole process again. They have taken anti- piracy too far. I have three legal rigs and this is stupid. Maybe I should buy a mac !
__________________

geekster is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 01:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

that's microsuck for you
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Fun Stuff!! NOT!
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

thats rather lame, unlucky matey.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default

Ah one of the many reasons i dislike windows and all microsoft apps. and im learning Linux!
BoobieSrUs is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

just get online and find a copy of XP that dosent have an activation.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 04:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
just get online and find a copy of XP that dosent have an activation.
Alot of those are the beta.
Dell XP installs are not a true XP install, their customised ghosted ones.

I have an army of computers, and have never had to reactiviate for a hardware change
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 04:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Alot of those are the beta.
Dell XP installs are not a true XP install, their customised ghosted ones.

I have an army of computers, and have never had to reactiviate for a hardware change
I think he was trying to say to..

go underground

I fix a dell. I change the harddrive and add a cd burner. it did the same thing to me. but the reactivation went through
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 06:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

is this what it has come to now?

we need to call microsoft everytime we even think about changing a part out?

how does this stop piracy?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 06:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

These might be TCPA Strikes. Changing the hardware and all and then it starts freaking out on you. Im not so sure about that yet, I hope that this teaches you that you should make your on rig, but if you do buy one, make sure that you "obtain" a coporate version of windows xp (the one that doesnt make you activate it)
__________________

str8lazy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.