XP startup problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2005, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Default XP startup problem

Hey gang, I'm getting the following message when I start my cpu:

Windows could not start because of an error in the software. Please report the problem as: load needed DLLs for kernel.

Any suggestions?
__________________

JChamp is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Read this:

SYMPTOMS
When you start Microsoft Windows XP, you may receive the following error message:
Windows could not start because of an error in the software. Please report this problem as : load needed DLLs for kernel. Please contact your support person to report this problem.
CAUSE
This issue may occur if the Hal.dll and Ntoskrnl.exe files are mismatched.
RESOLUTION
To resolve this issue, start your computer from the Windows CD, and then perform an in-place upgrade of Windows. For additional information about how to do so, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

In-Place Upgrade
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 25
Default

I got one. Ditch WinXP & get 2K Pro.
Silent Nemesis is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Default

OK, here's the message I get when I boot from the xp cd:

Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt: Windows root \system 32\hal.dll. Please re-install the above file.
JChamp is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 10:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You might need to reformat....Do you have another drive to put the cd in?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 11:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Default

No other drive. Does that mean I'm stuck?
__________________

JChamp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.